Skip to content

Small Accomplishments

January 16, 2013

I made it a goal to set several small goals for myself recently. Often they are simply thoughts I have in my head or tweets that I randomly send out, but it is nice to see myself reaching some of those goals.

 

Like:

  • Foam rolling every night because I started feeling that old familiar ITB pain.
  • Planning my meals ahead of time by looking at menus online when I am eating out-Two nights in a row I was able to do this!
  • Eating something other than cereal two week days this week-Not entirely complete. I ate overnight oats on Tuesday and plan on eating eggs tomorrow.
  • Getting up when my alarm goes off to work out-3 days and counting!
  • Hanging up my laundry as soon as it comes out of the dryer and not letting it sit in the basket for days on end.

They aren’t huge accomplishments. Some of them may even seem trivial. But the fact is that I am following through on things I say I am going to do.

Sometimes when we set HUGE goals for ourselves, it can seem like we will never get there. Don’t get me wrong, I am a big picture kind of girl, so I like to see the end result in my mind. But if I only had that big picture, that thing that may not happen for months or years, imagine how hard it would be to keep going. When I was on Weight Watchers, they taught us to celebrate small victories, both on and off the scale. That’s why you get to celebrate your 5%, 10%, each 5 lbs lost, etc. And why they give everyone an opportunity at every meeting to tell a non scale victory. If I would have only focused on the 147 pounds I had to lose, I might have given up.

So I urge you to celebrate the small victories that happen in your life. Whether it is remembering to wash your face each night or resisting the ice cream and eating some almonds instead. Take time to celebrate.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2013 10:53 am

    those are huge accomplishments, don’t doubt it! I think I need to get off this eating popcorn for dinner…. laziness and lack of time at its finest

Leave a Reply

