Skip to content

A Flair for the Dramatic

January 21, 2013

Pardon me for a minute while I step away from my usual posts about running, eating, and happier things. I feel the need to just put something out there.

I hate drama.

No drama

 

This pretty much defines my life. I don’t like to argue with people. I don’t like controversy. I don’t like that feeling that builds up inside you when things start getting a little crazy.

I stay Drama Free.

Unless we’re talking TV shows, then I say the more drama, the better.

dawson crying

I mean, who can resist crying Dawson, right?

 

But in all seriousness, I just try to stay drama free.

That’s why today my world is feeling a little off kilter and I don’t like it. This inauguration has brought about drama amongst everyone in the way that politics always does. People forget the importance of being respectful to others. People don’t know when it is best to keep some opinions to yourself. Family and friends start arguing with one another.

That’s what I don’t like.

And I know a lot of it is just my personality. I love that I am low drama. I don’t feel like everyone should be. I love how opinionated and outspoken some of my friends and family are, even when I don’t agree with them. Sometimes I wish I could be too, but for the most part, I just enjoy staying out of it.

Especially when it comes to politics. Some of that probably has to do with the fact that I fall so middle of the road. I am registered as a part of one party (those who know me know which one), but that doesn’t mean it rules my life. I have voted for both Democratic and Republican candidates in elections, both presidential and otherwise. I have some conservative values and some liberal values. I kind of like that a single party doesn’t define me. But I get defensive when people start attacking each other. And I hate how separated this country is because of politics recently. I know it is just a part of life, but it is not one I have to enjoy.

My one wish is just that people would remember the importance of respecting others.

 

And now I’ll get off of my soapbox.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2013 6:32 pm

    oh my gosh I am the same way, i hate drama. I get so sick of it and tend to just totally write off because I hate getting caught up in it. You are not alone!

  2. January 21, 2013 7:23 pm

    I’m sorry.

    • January 21, 2013 7:36 pm

      Totally not meant in a bad way towards you at all! I admire how you are able to voice your opinion and speak your mind without attacking people. I just hate that it got so ugly on FB.

Leave a Reply

