Skip to content

7 Miles and Plans Changed

January 26, 2013

Last night I kept thinking over and over again about how nervous I was about doing my long run outside. I have been running pretty much treadmill only for the past several weeks. Primarily this was because it has been cold, but also I have struggled on my past few runs outside. I can finish a long run on the treadmill with no breaks, but get me outside and I struggle so much. I knew it was important that I get outside though. I have a race coming up in a few weeks and I knew it was necessary for me to do some outside running.

And then I decided to just change my mind about it all. I decided to just go out there this morning and run for fun. I vowed not to worry about my time and to not stress if I had to take some walking breaks. And you know what? I did it. I ran 7 miles. I walked some. I struggled with hills and even slight inclines. But I did it. And I enjoyed it.

WP_000625

 

As I mentioned, I’m training for a race right now. In a few weeks, I will be in Dallas doing the Hot Chocolate 15k.

hot chocolate

I had originally planned on jumping straight from it into a short Half Marathon plan to do a local, small Half Marathon. Yesterday while I was sitting at work, I decided that I wanted to change my plans. I’m not super happy with how hard running has been for me lately. I really want to focus on getting my speed back and getting better at running again. Instead of doing the Half, I’m going to do the 10k at that race and then spend the spring and summer doing some 5k’s and working on the fundamentals. Then I will hopefully be ready to tackle a Half in the Fall and really be ready for it.

I have some other fun running plans, too, but I’m keeping them to myself for now until I know they are for sure happening.

Have a great Saturday!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

