Skip to content

January Reads

January 29, 2013

I have been trying to get back into reading more this year. It wasn’t one of my Resolutions, but I am trying to read as much as possible.

I ended up reading four books in January and thought I’d leave a quick review of them.

brooklyn

I found Brooklyn through a recommendation on Goodreads. Here is the description from Goodreads.

Hauntingly beautiful and heartbreaking, Colm Tóibín’s sixth novel, Brooklyn, is set in Brooklyn and Ireland in the early 1950s, when one young woman crosses the ocean to make a new life for herself.

It took me a while to get into it, but then I did and I couldn’t put it down. Towards the end, though, I started not liking the way it was going. Not sure I would really recommend it to anyone.

 

Sky is Everywhere

This was my second book in January. I also found it through a recommendation on Goodreads. It is about a girl, Lennie, whose sister dies and the aftermath of it in her life. It was an easy read, but not necessarily what you would consider quality. I wasn’t a huge fan of this book.

sophie's choice

Sophie’s Choice is one of the books on Modern Library’s top 100 Novels list. A few years ago I set out to read all 100 books. I got to this one (which I think was my 5th one) and stopped. I just couldn’t get into it. I decided I wanted to give the list a go again. I’m not going to lie, this book took me a couple of weeks to read. It is not easy to read in any way. That being said, it was a really good book. Here is the goodreads description of the book:

Three stories are told: a young Southerner wants to become a writer; a turbulent love-hate affair between a brilliant Jew and a beautiful Polish woman; and of an awful wound in that woman’s past–one that impels both Sophie and Nathan toward destruction.

matched

This was probably my favorite book of this month. I read it in about a day. It is one of the popular dystopian teen novels that is out right now (think Hunger Games, but focused less on action and more on a love story). It just pulled me in and made me wonder what was going to happen next. I can’t wait to read the next book in this trilogy!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 10:50 am

    gosh I am in need of some new books, I will look into these

Leave a Reply

