Skip to content

I love to run…most of the time

November 8, 2013

So now for the good stuff.

I have a few posts planned just to update what has gone on in my life the past several months. One of the biggest things going on is a (semi)triumphant return to my old running glory. Well, I’m not quite back there yet, but I’m getting there.

As most of you know, I ran my first Half Marathon in the Fall of 2011 at the Route 66 Marathon. Not only did I complete my first marathon, but I crushed my goal and ran it in 2:02. I jumped straight from the Half Marathon into Full Marathon training…and promptly got hurt. About halfway through my Marathon training, I resigned myself to the fact that I was going to have to do a walk/run combo for the Full Marathon. As disappointing as that was, I followed through and completed my first Full Marathon at the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon in the spring of 2012. Even though I had scaled back, that Marathon was the last straw for my overworked, injured body and I had to take a break from running that summer. I had hip and back pain that literally made it hard to function in my day to day life. But I rested my body and let it heal.

After some time off, I was ready to get back to it and started training for my second Half Marathon. It was evident from the beginning that things weren’t going to go according to plan. I was struggling. As much as I hated it, I went back to doing walk/run intervals again and completed my second Half Marathon (much slower) in the Fall of 2012 at the Route 66 Marathon and then did my first out of state race at the Hot Chocolate 15k in Dallas in Winter 2013. I struggled throughout the spring and summer to even do 2-3 miles at a time without taking a walking break. But I was determined to get back to it and made a plan to get my mileage back up so that I could start training for a Half Marathon again.

Bedlam Run, Summer 2013

Bedlam Run, Summer 2013

Surprisingly, I have done just that. I have steadily built my mileage back up and am now 3 weeks away from doing my third Half Marathon. I am definitely not as fast as I used to be, but throughout this training I have gotten a little faster (from struggling to hit a 12:30-13:00 mile, I am now averaging 10:00-11:00 mile). No, it’s still not as fast as I’d like to be, but it is steady progress. Every run has not come easily (The worst being my 7 mile long run), but I did 10 miles a few weeks ago and loved every minute of it. And I know I’m going to finish this half marathon in a few weeks.

trail

So, where do I go from here? I would love to do another Full Marathon, but I’m not going to rush it. After the Half, I will probably scale back for a few weeks and then pick up my mileage again. Maybe a full Marathon in a year or two is a possibility. I’d also love to do a distance relay or a triathlon, but no formal plans have been made for either of those either. For now, I’m just going to enjoy this love of running that has come back to me. And that will be enough.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

