Skip to content

October 18, 2013

November 11, 2013

So, the biggest thing that has gone on in my life lately is the fact that I just got engaged. So, what you’ve all been waiting for: The Engagement Story

Tim and I had been dating a little over two years and had talked about getting married, but he kept telling me that it was going to be a little while before it happened. As much as I (and everyone around me) wanted it to happen, I had decided to just relax and let it happen when it was supposed to.

We had made plans to go to Stillwater for OSU’s Homecoming Walkaround on Friday night, October 18. For all of you non-Pokes fans, this is where all of the Greek houses make elaborate decorations welcoming Alumni back to Stillwater and celebrating Homecoming weekend. Friday was cold and rainy all day and we knew it was going to be even colder in Stillwater, but we decided to go ahead and go.

image

One of our friends rode over to Stillwater with us where we met up with his wife, who is one of my best friends. We walked around the Greek houses enjoying the brisk, but luckily not rainy, weather. Walkaround was always one of my favorite parts about Homecoming in Stillwater and this was the first year that Tim and I got to experience it together.

image (3)

image (11)

image (7)

After Walkaround was finished, we decided to walk around campus. We said goodbye to our friends and took off towards campus. We walked, talking about our favorite places on campus and reliving some of our memories there. Tim kept saying, “I wish we would have known each other while we were here” to which I replied, “We met when we were supposed to meet”, which I really believe is true. We did a little shopping in the Student Union store and warmed up a little before heading back outside. We walked over by the library fountain and sat down for a while. I thought it was a little weird that we were sitting there for so long, but it didn’t really click that something special was about to happen.

image (15)

After a while, we stood up an Tim suggested we walk towards the Student Union. We walked over there and up onto the balcony overlooking campus. I don’t remember exactly what was said up there. I do remember commenting that I had never been up there before. The words that I do remember clearly is that Tim said again, “I wish we would have known each other while we were here” and then a few minutes later, “I want to spend the rest of my life with you” as he got down on one knee. I remember that I was shaking and a few tears fell as I hugged him and said “yes” and then he put the ring on my finger.

I couldn’t stop smiling as we walked back to the car and as cold as my hands were, I couldn’t make myself put gloves back on to cover up my gorgeous ring. We tried hitting up one of our favorite local restaurants for dinner, but the wait was too long so we opted for Chili’s instead. This is where I let everyone know the big news!

image (13)

It was the perfect engagement. I am so glad that I was surprised and that he did it at a place that means so much to both of us. More importantly, I am so happy that I get to spend the rest of my life with this man who I love more than anything in the world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

