Skip to content

The Power of Positive Thinking

November 12, 2013

I try to keep my life as positive as possible. While there are times that I am definitely grumpy and negative, I generally try to live my life as positive as possible. Here are some techniques I use to help me accomplish this:

63ac976c42de32c7ecbecad28b56ff6d

Reframe the negative:
Focusing on the negative things that are going on in our lives only encourage us to continue in that cycle. Probably one of the things that I am the most negative about is my constant struggle with my weight. After splurging for a weekend, it is easy to let myself start talking negatively about myself and the way I have eaten. Instead, I try to remember how much fun I had. So instead of saying “You ate horrible all weekend and you’re going to gain 5 lbs.”, I say, “You had fun and overindulged this weekend. This is a good opportunity to get refocused and back on track this week.”

ca581bd02eb00e4e0805461db7eeb8de

Focus on the good things:
There are a lot of bad things that can happen to you. But there are also a lot of good things. On those days when I start feeling the negativity creep up, I try to remind myself of those good things. I have a loving family. I have a few really good friends who would do anything for me. I have someone who loves me and is always there for me. I am blessed with a job that I love and enjoy going to. I am in good health. I have a God who blesses me daily with all of these things and more. Just focusing on the positive things makes me feel so much better.

bbe494a548cf6d993307bc382745fe49

Laugh:
I credit most of my positivity to the fact that I have laughter in my life. It may not be easy to laugh when you are having a really bad day. I’m not saying that is something you can force yourself to do. But what I am saying is that if, in general, you laugh a lot and find humor in your day to day life, it will be harder for the negativity to consume your life.

9628d5e099ad1074aac0efa5db942299

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

