Skip to content

Wedding: The Venue (part three)

November 25, 2013

Part One
Part Two

After touring the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame and the Glenpool Conference Center, I knew that one was clearly sticking out as the better option for us, and I knew that Tim felt the same way. The Glenpool Conference center was what we were looking for. I texted my family and a few friends asking what they thought about an October wedding. I got mixed responses. My best friend, Katie, said she loved the idea of a fall wedding. My mom and my sisters had a few questions. They knew how much I wanted to get married earlier, so I think they were a little resistant at first, but once I explained how much we liked it and that that was the earliest availability, I think they were definitely on board.

We went home a did a little number crunching, and even with adding on table and chair rental, it was still a really good deal. Plus, the first availably October date was October 18th. This would be a year to the date of our engagement, so it had to be fate, right?

I was careful not to get my hopes up, but I really wanted that date. Monday morning I tried to call as soon as they were open, but got no answer. Unfortunately, I had to go into a meeting, so I was just crossing my fingers that it would still be available when I got out of the meeting (I’m a little paranoid). I have a pretty amazing fiancé though, because while I was in the meeting, he was able to get ahold of the person in charge and took care of making our reservations!

So, the wedding venue and date are set: October 18, 2014 at the Glenpool Conference Center.

photo 4

We have tentative plans to do the ceremony outside (with a back up plan in case of bad weather) and the reception inside in one of the exhibition rooms that opens to the foyer. I am really excited (and nervous) about making it all come together like I want it. We don’t plan on hiring a wedding coordinator, so I know I am going to be relying on my amazing family and friends to help things run smoothly.

It felt so good to get this decision made and off of our plates.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

