Skip to content

The Past Few Weeks

December 17, 2013

Just when I got into the routine of updating my blog again, I got thrown off by Thanksgiving, traveling to Dallas for a long weekend, a snowstorm, and being busy from general Holiday stuff. So, what have I been up to?

1.I spent Thanksgiving at my Mom and Dad’s house with family. I indulged and ate way too much, but it was so good!

2.Tim and I went to Dallas for a long weekend the Friday after Thanksgiving. We visited my best friend, Katie, on Friday and had a second thanksgiving meal with her, her husband, and her family. We then spend Friday night-Monday morning with Tim’s parents. It was a nice, relaxing weekend. I may have partaken of too many “Corona-rita’s” on Saturday night, but I did manage to get a run in on Saturday morning.
994390_10101577922936752_747694047_n

3.The week after Thanksgiving, it was back to work. I had taken Monday off, so I was looking forward to a 4 day week. We had been hearing all week about the possibility of snow that week/weekend, but I was kind of reluctant. We haven’t had any good snow in Tulsa in a couple of years. This storm lived up to the forecast though. Snow started on Thursday (which meant we got to leave work at 2:00) and lasted into the morning on Friday. We ended up with about 5 inches of snow and a Snow Day off of work on Friday. I love snow, so I was definitely excited! Plus, it was fun to relax in my warm apartment for a few days.
1469948_10101590643374892_1937330898_n

4.I had friends over for a Holiday party on that Sunday. We ate Mexican food, played Cards Against Humanity, and got to visit a lot. We don’t get to all get together as much as we used to, so it was fun.

5.Last week was a full week of work and trying to get back into going to the gym and working out. Since the Half Marathon, I had only run once (3 miles when I was in Dallas) and hadn’t done much else. My first treadmill run last week wasn’t good (30 minutes at .5 mile run, .1 mile walk), but Saturday I did 3 miles with no walking breaks. It’s always an adjustment to switch from running outside to the treadmill for me. I get bored and I want to stop. I have also being doing push-up, sit-up, and squats using apps on my phone. And I got strength training in two days last week.

6.This weekend I finished up most of my Christmas shopping and went to a family Christmas party, which is always fun! I got to see some of my favorite Texas cousins and spend time with the rest of my family, including my nieces and nephew. I also made this fun Christmas Wreath Cake (It was marbled red, green, and white on the inside).
1467196_10101608252710642_933699885_n

That pretty much catches you up on what I’ve been doing the past few weeks. I’m looking forward to this last week of work and then a week and a half off (the benefits of working for a University!).

No comments yet

Leave a comment